Educators announce P-16 2015 BEST award winners

Staff Reports • Oct 27, 2015 at 7:00 PM

The BEST Award celebrates the accomplishments of community leaders, business owners, and entrepreneurs. It recognizes those who share knowledge and expertise, advocate, and foster student success in Pre-K through postsecondary education.

The P-16 Council is made up of area secondary school educators, higher education leaders and business people. It is led by Volunteer State Community College. The goal of P-16 is to promote the relationship between education and the value of work, develop a highly trained workforce, and create a culture of lifelong learning by positively impacting student success through awareness, advocacy, and action.

The BEST Award winners were honored by the council at a meeting recently. The 2015 award winners are: Paul Thompson, Executive Vice President/General Manager of Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation for Macon County; Scott Bagwell, Vice President of Commerce Union Bank for Robertson County; Marius Sipos, President of YFS Automotive Systems for Sumner County; Betty Sue Hibdon, President/CEO of Citizens Bank in Hartsville for Trousdale County; and G.C. Hixson, Executive Director of the Joint Economic and Community Development Board of Wilson County.

For more information about P-16 visit volstate.edu/P16.

Recommended for You