no avatar

'Stars' alight in Wilson

Kimberly Jordan kjordan@lebanondemocrat.com • Jan 15, 2014 at 6:00 PM

Wilson County honored several "stars" Tuesday night during the annual Governor's Volunteer Star Awards dinner.

The award nominees were each given a certificate thanking them for their volunteer spirit. Two winners, one adult and one youth, will be chosen to go on to the state banquet and be recognized in March.

The nominees for 2014 are Abigail Wright, Austyn Walls, Brianna Garvin, CASA volunteers, Chol Wal Rambang, Deborah Pare, Emma Eck, Katlin Dickson, Mary Holden, Nelson Greg Armstrong, Reagan Jennings, Tina Winfree, Valentine Vastola, Veronica Mallicoat and the Wilson County Archives volunteers.

"It takes people like you to make this county what it is," said Wilson County Mayor Randall Hutto to the nominees and their families.

Representing Volunteer Tennessee, the organization that organizes the awards, Zanquetta Gray said it was "my pleasure to be here and thank you for your service to Tennessee." She said the volunteer spirit of the Volunteer State is exemplified in the "tireless and dedicated service" of the nominees.

Wilson County awards coordinator Ken Sweeney said an announcement of the winners should take place in the next seven to 10 days. He closed the evening saying, "we take this opportunity to honor all the nominees and provide a tangible opportunity to recognize volunteers and what they provide."

Recommended for You