Leave Feedback

Black announces candidacy for re-election to US Congress

Staff Reports • Dec 15, 2015 at 2:40 PM

GALLATIN – U.S. Congresswoman Diane Black, R-Tenn., turned in her qualifying petition Monday for re-election to the U.S. House of Representatives; officially launching her 2014 congressional campaign. 

“President [Barack] Obama and his liberal counterparts in Congress will not relent in their efforts to shape the future of our country, and neither should we,” said Black. “I ran for Congress to cut wasteful spending, fight back against Obamacare and protect Tennesseans from an out-of-control federal government that has simply forgotten its place. We have made great strides on these fronts, but there is more work to be done. That is why [Monday], I am declaring my candidacy for re-election.”

First known for her efforts in the Tennessee General Assembly to combat Gov. Don Sundquist’s proposed state income tax, Black has also earned a reputation as a conservative leader in the U.S. Congress through her support of a balanced budget amendment to the U.S. Constitution, her votes to defund and fully repeal Obamacare and, most recently, by voting against members of her own party leadership to oppose legislation to raise the federal debt ceiling.  

During her time in Congress, Black has received numerous distinctions for her consistently conservative voting record, including recently being rated among the top 15 most conservative members of Congress by National Journal, being honored with the American Conservative Union’s “ACU Conservative Award” and being given the highest score in the entire House of Representatives for combating illegal immigration by Numbers USA.  

Additionally, Black maintains a 100-percent pro-life score from National Right to Life, earned an “A” rating on the most recent NRA scorecard, and has picked up an early re-election endorsement from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.

Tennessee’s 6th Congressional District includes Cannon, Clay, Coffee, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, White and Wilson counties, as well as portions of Cheatham and Van Buren counties.  

Recommended for You