no avatar

County commission to have new faces come fall

By Kimberly Jordan kjordan@lebanondemocrat.com • Dec 17, 2015 at 6:57 PM

Several new faces will take seats on the Wilson County Commission in September.

Among those new faces will be Sonja Robinson, who unseated incumbent Clint Thomas.

“I’m very humbled. I’m excited and very, very appreciative for all the support everyone has given me,” Robinson said. “We’ve got a lot of wonderful commissioners that are coming back and I think it’s going to be a good commission that will work together. I’m ready to get to work.”

Attempts to reach Thomas for comment were unsuccessful.

Sue Vanatta will take a seat for District 23 after a successful campaign against incumbent Bernie Ash.

Vanatta said she was “shocked, surprised and excited” to learn of her victory.

“I’m excited to stay involved in Wilson County and looking forward to being progressive and moving the county forward,” she said. “I could not have done it without my family and friends, they’ve been there through the whole thing.”

Attempts to reach Ash for comment were unsuccessful.

Other unofficial commission results included: Becky Siever retained her seat in District 1; Bobby Franklin fills the seat for District 3; Chad Barnard holds his chair for District 4; Kenny Reich retains his seat in District 6; Terry Scruggs remains the representative for District 7; Frank Bush continues to represent District 8; Sara Patton retains her chair in District 9; Terry Ashe takes over the District 12 seat from Terry Rowland, who did not run for reelection; Jeff Joines will continue to represent District 14; Diane Weathers will assume the chair in District 16; William Glover retains his chair in District 19; Cindy Brown takes over District 21; Wendell Marlowe retains his seat in District 22; Joe Bishop will assume the seat in District 24; and Jim Emberton takes the seat in District 25.

County Mayor Randall Hutto and Sheriff Robert Bryan retained their seats as each was unopposed. Unopposed commissioners included Adam Bannach in District 2; Jerry McFarland in District 5; Dan Walker in District 10; John P. Gentry in District 11; Mike Justice in District 15; Gary Keith in District 17; Terry Muncher in District 18; and Annette Stafford in District 20.

Recommended for You