Leave Feedback

Haslam celebrates primary victory

Staff Reports • Dec 17, 2015 at 6:57 PM

Gov. Bill Haslam will try to retain his seat in November following a large win in Thursday’s primary.

Haslam garnered 561,218 votes Thursday, easily eclipsing all of his challengers. Tennessee Republican Party Chairman Chris Devaney offered his encouragement Thursday night.

“Congratulations to Gov. Bill Haslam on his overwhelming victory in tonight’s Republican primary. Gov. Haslam’s visionary leadership has jumpstarted our economy, revamped our education system, and set our state on a path of achievement. He’s been an outstanding leader for our state and I look forward to telling voters about his positive message this fall.”

He will face Democrat Charles “Charlie” Brown in November. Brown received nearly 93,000 votes in the Democratic primary.

Alexander tops Carr for primary win

Sen. Lamar Alexander defeated Joe Carr in Thursday’s primary, looking for another term in the U.S. Senate in November.

Alexander topped Carr by nearly 59,000 votes to secure the win. 

Tennessee Republican Party Chairman Chris Devaney said, “Congratulations to Sen. Lamar Alexander for winning the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate. Once again, Tennesseans are rallying to his candidacy because they trust his steady hand and his conservative record. He’s well-positioned for the fall to return to the U.S. Senate and help lead a new Republican majority.”

Alexander will take on Democrat Gordon Ball, who narrowly defeated Terry Adams for the Democratic nomination.

State GOP, Democrat executive races close contests

Albert McCall defeated Dwayne Craighead by just 82 votes to secure the Republican primary nomination for State Executive Committeeman on Thursday in District 17. 

In the Democratic primary, Aubrey T. Givens bested Bob Black by a vote of 4,193 to 3,280.

The Republican primary for State Executive Committeewoman was an even narrower margin, with Jennifer Franklin Winfree topping Pat Fields by a mere 24 votes to secure her victory. Yvonne Hunter finished with just over 4,000 votes. Rachel Givens won the Democratic nomination unopposed.

Recommended for You