no avatar

Field set for Nov. elections

By Xavier Smith xsmith@lebanondemocrat.com • Dec 17, 2015 at 7:02 PM

Qualifications for the Nov. 4 elections ended Thursday, and there are plenty of local, state and national races to keep an eye on.

Bernie Ash, Samuel "Ken" Brown and Rick Hallum qualified to challenge incumbent Joe Hayes for the Lebanon alderman Ward 4 position.

Incumbent Kathy Warmath will be challenged for her Lebanon alderman Ward 6 seat by Dan Jandura.

Rob Cesternino will run unopposed for his current position as councilman of Ward 3 in Lebanon.

Incumbent Jim Bradshaw will face Brian Abston in the Mt. Juliet contest for District 4 commissioner. James Maness is unopposed in the city’s race for commissioner of District 2.

Kristie Bayse Cantrell and Brandon Howard will face each other for the Watertown at-large alderman seat.

Tennessee House of Representatives races will have a couple head-to-head battles in November.

Candace Reed, a Democrat, is challenging Republican incumbent Mark Pody for House District 46. Pody was first elected to his position in 2010. Reed has recently criticized Pody’s proposed legislation to change Tennessee’s health insurance laws.

Susan Lynn, R, will seek to keep her position as representative of District 57. Lynn has been in her position since 2012. She also previously served from 2003 to 2011.

Jesse McLevain, D, is challenging Lynn. McLevain is a volunteer with the Wilson County Black History Committee and was unopposed in the Democratic primary election.

Mae Beavers is unopposed in her race for state Senate District 17. She defeated Clark Boyd in the Republican primary. Beavers was first elected to the chamber in 2002.

Gov. Bill Haslam will face six challengers this general election. Charles Brown won the Democratic primary and will look to unseat Gov. Haslam. Haslam will also face Shaun Crowell, Isa Infante, Daniel Lewis, Steve Coburn and John Jay Hooker.

U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander, R, also faces a crowd of opponents.  Gordon Ball is the Democratic candidate for Senate. Independents Ed Gautier, Bartholomew Phillips, C. Salekin, Danny Page, Eric Schechter, Joe Wilmoth, Joshua James and Rick Tyler also join the race. Tea Party candidate Tom Emerson and Green Party candidate Martin Pleasant round off the race.

Incumbent Diane Black looks for her third term as the sixth district U.S. Representative. Amos Powers is her Democratic opposition in the race. He ran unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Mike Winton is the Independent challenger to Black. 

Amendment 1 is also on the ballot in November. The amendment would insert constitutional language empowering the Tennessee legislature to enact, amend or repeal abortion statues. The amendment has been a heated issue across the state.

Candidates have until Aug. 28 to withdraw from their races.

Oct. 6 is the last day to register for early voting and Oct. 28 is the last day to request absentee ballots.

Early voting begins Oct. 15 and ends Oct. 30. 

Recommended for You