Wilson County Motors, First Freedom to play for Dixie championship

Staff Reports • Dec 17, 2015 at 6:38 PM

Wilson County Motors and First Freedom advanced to the Dixie Youth League championship with Monday-night victories at Baird Park.

WCM defeated ADC 4-1 as Braden Reece and Wyatt Evans combined to pitch a no-hitter. Afterward, First Freedom run-ruled Painturo’s 10-0.

Reece and Evans each threw three innings. Reece left the game with the score tied 1-1, leaving Evans to get the win.

Skylar Timplin hit a two-run double and Spencer Sorce an RBI single. Corey Jones singled twice and Reece doubled.

Kolby Gaines and Bryce Miller each banged out an RBI single for First Freedom. Gaines pitched the first inning and left with a 1-0 lead. Garrett Pope tossed two innings and Layman Smith one.

Ryan Jackson’s single represented Painturo’s’ lone hit.

Wilson County Motors and First Freedom will play each other Thursday night for the league championship with closing ceremonies to follow.

Recommended for You