Leave Feedback

Shipper’s, Wilson County Motors win LYB championships

Staff Reports • Dec 17, 2015 at 6:39 PM

Sam Parish’s eighth-inning three-run inside-the park homer was the big blow in Shipper’s’ 15-10 overtime win over State Farm in the Lebanon Youth Baseball minor-league championship game Thursday at Baird Park’s Gallaher-Harding Complex.

At David B. Penuel Memorial Field, Wilson County Motors took the major-league championship with a 7-2 win over First Freedom.

Parish’s hit came during an eight-run top of the eighth and helped Shipper’s withstand State Farm’s three-run bottom of the inning.

For Wilson County Motors, Braden Reece pitched three hitless innings for the win with seven strikeouts. At the plate, he singled and hit a two-run homer over the fence.

Skyler Templin also homered over the fence while Carson Boles and Wyatt Simmons singled.

Wyatt Evans pitched the final three innings, giving up both First Freedom hits to Bryce Miller, who doubled into the left-field corner in the fourth inning and singled home a run in the sixth.

Following the games, both leagues trotted down to Veterans Field for closing ceremonies and the announcing of all-star teams.

The major-league all-stars will open Dixie Youth subdistrict play June 20  with the American League playing at Baird Park and the National League at White House. The district tournament will run June 27-July 1 at Coopertown with the state tourney opening July 16 at Sweetwater.

The minor league will open the Little League area tournament June 27 at Gallatin. The district tourney will begin July 3 at Smith County and the state will start July 12 at Goodlettsville.

Recommended for You