Wilson Central wins Ooltewah tournament

Golden Bears pin Lebanon as part of 4-1 weekend
Dec 10, 2013


OOLTEWAH — Wilson Central won a 15-team wrestling tournament over the weekend as 12 of 14 Wildcats medaled.

Central, which held at No. 4 in the second Luther Killian state poll of the season released Monday, collected 248 points. Runner-up Walker Valley picked up 154.

The Wildcats’ Christian Cerrito, Eddie Small, Austin Richard, Mike Binns, Perry Baltz and Johnny Kramer won their respective weight classes while Lane Dickeson, John Davidson and Ty Georgeadis finished second. Caleb Berta and Andy Hamrick were third and Nick King fourth.

Kramer collected his 100th career high school pin.  Small was awarded the best finals match award given by the referees.

In the Killian poll, the Wildcats collected 75 points, just one behind No. 3 Baylor. Cleveland is No. 1 with 100.

Golden Bears pin Lebanon as part of 4-1 weekend

Mt. Juliet went 4-1 in dual matches over the weekend.

The Golden Bears beat Lebanon 47-22, Coffee County 58-15, Franklin County 67-24 and Riverdale 56-11. Mt. Juliet lost to Beech 49-25.

Mt. Juliet winners against Lebanon were Matthew Helm by pin over Jordan Benford in 5:55 at 120 pounds, Zackrey Wilkins by pin over Benjamin Bryant in 43 seconds at 126, Colin Williams by pin over Austin Reynolds in 1:24 at 132, Austin Downig by technical fall over Joshua Ezeta 16-1 at 145, Justin Charest by pin over Jed Hardy in 2:32 at 152, Danyon Edens by forfeit at 160, Colton Jones by pin over Taylor Harrison in 2:28 at 220 and Hunter Ingham by pin over Christopher Stickler in 40 seconds at 285.

Lebanon winners were Sean Sesnan by pin over Daniel Baker in 26 seconds at 106, Austin Plumlee by major decision 11-3 over Jalen Henry at 113, Malik Weir by pin over Jacob O’Brien in 5:31 at 182 and Justin Brown by pin over Asher Benson in 1:30 at 195.

Mt. Juliet winners against Coffee County were Wilkins by pin in 24 seconds, Williams by pin in 1:24, Downig by major decision 10-2, Charest by a 10-6 decision, Edens 10-5, O’Brien by forfeit in 2:29, Benson by pin in 17 seconds, Jones by pin in 40 seconds, Ingham by pin in 2:14, Henry by pin in 3:04 and Helm by pin in 44 seconds.

Golden Bear victors against Franklin County were Wilkins by pin in 3:41, Williams by 12-2 major decision, Downig by pin in 1:37, Charest by 8-4 decision, Edens by pin in 51 seconds, O’Brien by pin in 37 seconds, Benson by pin in 1:22, Jones by pin in 1:27, Ingham by pin in 32 seconds, Baker and Henry by forfeit and Helm by pin 1:43.

Mt. Juliet winners against Riverdale were Downig by pin at 1:09, Charest in 10-2 major decision, Edens by forfeit, Benson by pin in 25 seconds, Jones by pin in 5:15, Baker and Henry by forfeit, Helm by pin in 1:54, Wilkins by pin in 26 seconds and Williams by an 11-1 major decision.

Against Beech, O’Brien won by pin in 55 seconds, Benson won by pin in 50 seconds, Jones won by pin in 3:15, Wilkins prevailed by pin in 1:35 and Williams in a 9-6 decision.

Log in or sign up to post comments.