no avatar

Election petitions available

By Caitlin Rickard crickard@lebanondemocrat.com • Updated Jan 9, 2014 at 12:26 AM

Beginning last Friday, petitions could officially be picked up for the Aug. 7 elections in Wilson County.

Phillip Warren, administrator of elections, said that so far things have been running fine since petitioning started.

“Everything went well [Friday], and everything’s been going real well,” Warren said.

However, Warren said that picking up a petition just means the candidate simply got a petition and that more steps were involved.

Picking up a petition to run is the first step for a candidate to announce their intent to run on Election Day Aug. 7, but it doesn’t necessarily mean their name will be on the ballot.

“They’ve next got to get 25 signatures of registered voters in their district that they’re running and turn that in by the qualifying deadline April 3 at noon,” Warren said.

After returning their petitions with the 25 signatures and being reviewed by the Election Commission, Warren said the petition would then be filed.

So far, those who have picked up a petition to run includes:

Chancellor-15th Judicial: C.K. Smith

Circuit Court Clerk: Bud Brandon, Debbie Moss, Felicia Plumlee Hale, Jeff Dickson

Circuit Court Judge Div. 1- 15th District: Clara Byrd

County Clerk: Jim Goodall

Criminal Court Judge-15th Judicial: Brian Fuller, Brody Kane

General Sessions Judge Division I: Barry Tatum

General Sessions Judge Division II: Andy Wright, Ellis H. Marshall III, Harry A. Christiansen

General Session Judge Division III: John Gwin

Public Defender-15th Judicial: Comer Donnell

Register of Deeds: John ‘Bev’ Spickard

Sheriff: Robert Bryan

State Representative-Republican District 46: Mark Pody

State Republican Committeeman: Albert B. McCall

State Senate Republican 17th District: Mae Beavers

Trustee: Jim Major

County Commissioner-District 1: Becky Siever

County Commissioner-District 4: Chad Barnard

County Commissioner-District 6: Kenny Reich, Kevin Graves

County Commissioner-District 7: Joshua Hinerman

County Commissioner-District 8: Frank Bush

County Commissioner-District 13: Clint Thomas, Sonja Robinson

County Commissioner-District 14: Jeff Joines

County Commissioner-District 17: Gary Keith

County Commissioner-District 18: Michael Cole, Terrell Muncher

County Commissioner-District 20: Annette Stafford

County Commissioner-District 23: Bernie Ash, Robert C. Pelt

County Commissioner-District 24: Paul Abercrombie

Wilson County Mayor: Randall Hutto

County School Board-Zone 4: Ron Britt

County School Board-Zone 5: Larry Tomlinson

Warren said the last day to withdraw from the election is April 10 and after that the commission meets to qualify the candidates and make them official.

“But it’s a pretty good indication someone is going to run if they pick up a petition,” Warren said.

The last day to pick up a petition to run is April 3 at noon.

For more information, visit the Wilson County Election Commission website at wilsonelections.com or call 615-444-0216.

Recommended for You

    Lebanon Democrat Videos