Leave Feedback

Commission to fill District 18 vacancy

Staff Reports • Dec 15, 2015 at 2:10 PM

The Wilson County Commission is expected to fill a District 18 commission vacancy at its meeting Jan. 27.

Former Commissioner Adam Bannach resigned his seat in December, after moving into a new home out of the district. The individual selected will serve for the unexpired term, which runs through Aug. 31.

Anytime a vacancy happens in an elected official’s position the commission is responsible for filling the vacancy, according to state law.

“We would like to make the public, and especially individuals interested in seeking the position, aware of how the process works,” Wilson County Mayor Randall Hutto said.

Any individual interested in the position must meet the qualifications outlined for holding public office in state law. They must be 18 years old or older, a resident and qualified voter of District 18 and not have a felony. The district lines used in the 2010 elections will be used in determining eligibility for this vacancy per state law.

The individual selected to fill the vacancy must receive majority vote from the Wilson County Commission. Anyone interested should contact any current commissioner to let him or her know of their desire and solicit support, since they will be electing the individual to fill the vacancy.

Names may be submitted in writing to Hutto prior to the commission meeting, but it is not a requirement. Before the commission votes, District 18 registered voters will be allowed to recommend individuals to be considered for the position. Once all recommendations from the public are made, the commission will then begin the nomination and selection process.

A commissioner must nominate an individual on the floor for that person to be considered. The public is not allowed to nominate, rather only recommend candidates. A commissioner may also nominate an individual who did not receive a recommendation from the public. Seconds are not required for nominations.

Once commission nominations are complete, those nominated will be given about three to five minutes to briefly address the commission to share information about themselves and their desire for the position. Handouts may be passed out prior to the commission meeting.

Voting will take place on paper ballots. Commissioners will be provided with blank ballots and must sign the ballot for their vote to be considered. Votes will be read aloud once all ballots are collected.

Voting is complete when a person nominated receives 13 votes. If no one receives 13 votes, the candidate with the lowest vote total shall have his or her name – or names should there be a tie – removed. Balloting will continue using the same process with the revised list of candidates. This process will continue until someone is selected.

The successful candidate may be sworn into office Jan. 27 and will begin serving immediately to fill the unexpired term.

All commission seats will be up for election during the General Election on Aug. 7. The new term will begin Sept. 1.

Anyone with questions may call the Wilson County mayor’s office at 615-444-1383 during regular office hours. For more details on qualifications, individuals should check with the Wilson County Election Commission at 615-444-0216.

Recommended for You