no avatar

Elections qualifying deadline draws near

By Caitlin Rickard crickard@lebanondemocrat.com • Updated Mar 27, 2014 at 12:00 AM

The qualifying deadline to run in the upcoming election is quickly approaching.

With a little more than four months until the county general and state primary election day in Wilson County on Aug. 7, the deadline for candidates to qualify to run will be April 3 at noon. 

The only exception to the April 3 deadline is the post for sheriff candidates, which had a March 20 deadline.

Candidates could begin picking up petitions to run Jan. 3, so election hopefuls will have had exactly three months to make their decision on whether to run come Thursday.

After picking up petitions to run, candidates also must acquire 25 signatures of registered voters living in the district where they’re running and have those signatures turned in by the qualifying deadline next Thursday.

The deadline for candidate withdrawal will be one week later, April 10 at noon.

So far, these candidates have picked up petitions to run:

U.S. House of Representatives – 6th Congressional Democrat: Jesse McLevain.

State Senate – District 17 – Republican: Mae Beavers, Clark Boyd.

State Representative – District 46 – Republican: Mark Pody.

State Representative – District 46 – Democrat: Candace Reed.

State Representative – District 57 – Republican: Susan Lynn, Scott Hefner.

State Representative – District 57 – Democrat: Jesse McLevain.

Republican State Executive Committeeman – District 17: Dwayne Craighead, Albert McCall.

Republican State Executive Committeewoman – District 17: Pat Fields, Yvonne G. Hunter.

Democrat State Executive Committeeman – District 17: Jesse McLevain, Aubrey Givens.

Republican State Executive Committeewoman – District 17: Mary A. Patterson, Rachel Givens.

Circuit Court Judge – 15th Judicial District – Division I: Clara Byrd.

Circuit Court Judge – 15th Judicial District – Division II: Aubrey Givens, John D. Wootten, Jr.

Chancellor – 15th Judicial District: C.K. Smith, Gordon C. Aulgur.

Criminal Court – 15th Judicial District: Brian Fuller, Brody Kane.

District Attorney General – 15th Judicial District: Tommy Thompson.

Public Defender – 15th Judicial District: Comer Donnell.

County Mayor: Randall Hutto.

County Commissioner – District 1: Becky Siever.

County Commissioner – District 2: Richard L. Moses, Jeff Hartline, Adam Bannach.

County Commissioner – District 3: Bobby Franklin, Paul Harvey, Britt Linville, Bill Broyles.

County Commissioner – District 4: Chad Barnard, Melani Stephens, Sam Bodock Saylors.

County Commissioner – District 5: Jerry McFarland, Jimmy Comer.

County Commissioner – District 6: Kenny Reich, Kevin Graves.

County Commissioner – District 7: Joshua Hinerman, Terry L. Scruggs.

County Commissioner – District 8: Frank Bush, Terry Duncan.

County Commissioner – District 9: Gary Tarpley, Sara B. Patton.

County Commissioner – District 10: Dan Walker.

County Commissioner – District 11: John P. Gentry.

County Commissioner – District 12: Terry McPeak, Terry Ashe, John Szente.

County Commissioner – District 13: Clint Thomas, Sonja L. Robinson.

County Commissioner – District 14: Jeff Joines, Jason Henry, Kevin Pigg.

County Commissioner – District 15: Mike Justice.

County Commissioner – District 16: Diane Weathers, Jason D. Brockman.

County Commissioner – District 17: Gary Keith.

County Commissioner – District 18: Lauren Breeze, Michael Cole, Terrell Muncher.

County Commissioner – District 19: William A. Glover III, Dennis Little.

County Commissioner – District 20: Annette Davis-Stafford.

County Commissioner – District 21: Cindy Forbes Brown, Eugene Murray.

County Commissioner – District 22: J. Wendell Marlowe, John Jankowich.

County Commissioner – District 23: Bernie Ash, Robert C. Pelt, Sue Vanatta.

County Commissioner – District 24: Paul D. Abercrombie.

County Commissioner – District 25: Jim Emberton, Luther C. Lenning, Randy Hall, John Wayne Hamblen.

County Trustee: Nick Hays, J. Edward Dillahay, Jim Major.

General Sessions Judge Division I: Barry Tatum.

General Sessions Judge Division II:  Shelley Gardner, Haywood Barry, Andy Wright, Ellis H. Marshall III, Harry A. Christiansen.

General Sessions Judge Division III: John T. Gwin.

Sheriff: Robert C. Bryan.

Circuit Court Clerk: Bud Brandon, Debbie Moss, Felicia Plumlee Hale, Jeff Dickson.

County Clerk: Jim Goodall.

Register of Deeds: J. Edward Dillahay, John Bev Spickard.

Wilson County Board of Education – Zone 2: Bill Robinson.

Wilson County Board of Education – Zone 4: Sam Green, Linda Armistead, Ron Britt.

Wilson County Board of Education – Zone 5: Larry Tomlinson.

Constable – Zone 1: Jacob Austin, William Robert Manley, David Shepard.

Constable – Zone 2: Jimmy Locke, Wesley W. Thompson III.

Constable – Zone 3: Glenn Oco Hamblen.

Constable – Zone 4: Jenny Lenning-Faulk, Luther C. Lenning, James Woods.

Constable – Zone 5: Ronnie Greer.

Lebanon Special School District Board of Education: Andy E. Brummett.

The last day to register to vote is July 8.

For more information, visit the Wilson County Election Commission website at wilsonelections.com or call 615-444-0216.

Recommended for You

    Lebanon Democrat Videos