no avatar

Wilson’s ballot field set

By Caitlin Rickard crickard@lebanondemocrat.com • Dec 17, 2015 at 6:19 PM

The field of candidates for the August general election and primaries has now officially been set. 

Thursday at noon served as the final deadline for withdrawal.

The qualifying deadline was previously April 3 at noon, with an additional week available for candidates to drop out before ballots were finalized.

However, not many chose to back out of running in the week window of opportunity. 

Scott Hefner is no longer on the ballot to face incumbent Susan Lynn in the Republican primary for District 57 state representative, so Lynn will now face Democrat challenger Jesse McLevain, who is running unopposed in the primary, in November.

Britt Linville is also no longer on the ballot for District 3 county commissioner, leaving Bobby Franklin and Paul Harvey left to vie for the seat.

Though several candidates did not receive opposition and will likely retain their respective seats, redistricting following the 2010 election has added some opposition and shake-ups in the Wilson County Commission races.

Additionally, Thursday also served as the first quarter financial disclosure report deadline for candidates. 

Clark Boyd, who is challenging incumbent Mae Beavers for Republican state Senate in District 17, announced his April quarterly fundraising totals this week. He said he raised more than $67,000 in 10 weeks, and nearly 85 percent of contributions came from within District 17.

Boyd, who is a small business owner and former chairman of the Wilson County Republican Party, reported more than $63,000 cash on hand after expenses, which exceeds Beavers’ reported total cash on hand of $55,541.64.

However, Beavers cannot raise funds while the General Assembly is in session. 

With no Democrat opposition, the winner will get the Senate seat.

The last day to register to vote is July 8, with the county general and state primary elections set for Aug. 7.

Local city races and state general elections will be decided Nov. 4.

For more information, visit the Wilson County Election Commission website at wilsonelections.com or call 615-444-0216.

Recommended for You