10:00 PM Sep 16, 2015
It’s fall. It’s time to get the flu shot, not the flu. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends that everyone 6 months of age and older get vaccinated every year to prevent getting the flu.
9:00 PM Sep 16, 2015
Producers use different methods to wean calves, but according to Andrew Griffith, University of Tennessee Extension livestock marketing specialist, some methods are better than others when it comes to the health of the animal.
5:00 PM Sep 16, 2015
In recent months, there has been much said about the Federal Government collecting data from the phone calls of all American citizens.
8:00 PM Sep 15, 2015
Once again it’s time for the annual excitement of Gladefest. This Saturday, Sept. 19 is the big day. The fun will start at 9 a.m. and go until 3 p.m. Admission is free.
4:00 PM Sep 15, 2015
I am always amazed at the tendency of liberals to want everything both ways as long as it supports what they want. They likewise refuse to recognize anything that disagrees with what they want.
3:00 PM Sep 15, 2015
SAN DIEGO — Last week, the surprising heat and humidity in the Southwest corner reminded me no place is perfect when it comes to weather.
6:00 PM Sep 14, 2015
Do you remember when you could find well-known adults you’d be glad to introduce as a good role model to your teen? It seems like there are very few left. So many pop stars, politicians, business leaders and sports figures are all failing the test of being effective role models.
2:00 PM Sep 13, 2015
John McMillin is president of United Way of Wilson County and the Upper Cumberland. Email him at jmunitedway@bellsouth.net.
8:00 AM Sep 13, 2015
Ann Haney is homeschool mother of 18-plus years to six children, including four entrepreneurs, ordained minister, CEO of Aaron Publishing, founder of Ann Haney Ministries and Living In Abundance, nationwide motivational speaker, coupon specialist, television host, empowerment coach and bestselling author of 18 published products, including her books, “Exploding Into Successful Entrepreneurship,” “Single Steps In A Married World” and “Changing Your Life Through Couponing Financial Empowerment Series.” Contact Ann at ann@annhaney.com to schedule a speaking engagement, individual coaching or view her website for more information at annhaney.com.
5:00 PM Sep 12, 2015
I don’t belong to a group that Mr Roy Denney calls “hate groups” but I do endorse gun-control. I believe most of us do so out of Christian love, not hate. We are concerned that gun violence in America has grown to be one of the scariest and most tragic crimes in our country. If there is anything at all that we can do that might save a life, we should try it. Not argue about it, just do it.
4:00 PM Sep 12, 2015
“One of the most interesting results w“The thing that’s really kept me on my toes is how my mom would always tell me – it’s not the best thing for a mother to tell you – but she’d never tell me after I’d lose a soccer game, ‘You’ll do better next time.’ She’d always say, ‘There’s always somebody better.’” — Brandon Flowers
8:00 PM Sep 11, 2015
Unless you live in a cave, you’ve heard of what is going on in Kentucky with Kim Davis being jailed for not issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples. The woman has gone from living in obscurity, like most of us, to living in the light of worldwide news coverage.
7:00 PM Sep 11, 2015
I have a choice. In all of the struggles and complications of life, I find Him the only solution. I can turn no other place.
3:00 PM Sep 11, 2015
See who got a thumbs-up this week.
2:00 PM Sep 11, 2015
Not too long ago, there was an American President who dared to make a deal with a sworn enemy of the United States — an enemy bent on America’s destruction.
5:00 PM Sep 10, 2015
James B. (Jim) Hawkins is a general practice and public interest law attorney based in Gallatin. This column represents legal information, and is not intended to take the place of legal advice. All cases are different and need individual attention. Consult with a private attorney of your choice to review the facts and law specific to your case. To suggest future column topics, call (615) 452-9200.
4:00 PM Sep 10, 2015
* Dave Ramsey is America’s trusted voice on money and business. He has authored five New York Times best-selling books. The Dave Ramsey Show is heard by more than 8.5 million listeners each week on more than 550 radio stations. Dave’s latest project, EveryDollar, provides a free online budget tool. Follow Dave on Twitter at @DaveRamsey and on the web at daveramsey.com.