3:00 PM Aug 19, 2015
Lots is happening in the area of open government lately. In recent columns I’ve talked about legislation that would control access to police videos and about a proposed Supreme Court rule that would limit reporters’ use of electronic devices in courtrooms.
8:05 PM Aug 18, 2015
The Glade has been bubbling over with excitement for the past few days. Gladeville had the “Fish Fry Friday” down at the Glade Diner, and the Wilson County Fair opened the same evening. The almost world famous Glade Diner is about to become more famous. They are getting a visit from the one and only television’s Food Channel. Yes that’s right folks, they are going nation wide with those “secret recipe hush puppies.
2:00 PM Aug 18, 2015
This past weekend, Southwest corner weather came as close as it can to resembling weather back home and I recalled an August many years ago.
8:00 PM Aug 17, 2015
Many of you dads out there will be teaching your son or daughter how to drive this summer. Your child will be anxious to exercise what teens believe is their God-given right to commandeer 2,000 pounds of machinery and experience his new world in a whirlwind. You may be the single voice of reason between desire and reality as your son or daughter navigates the DMV maze and finally smiles for the usually unflattering driver’s license mug shot.
10:00 AM Aug 17, 2015
For you sharp-eyed people who saw the contradiction in the headline of a column a few weeks back that was called “Head hopping not advised,” which then explained that while it wasn’t advised in the art of fiction writing but most certainly is useful in the bridge world, I’m sorry.
8:00 AM Aug 16, 2015
Many attempt the art of couponing but fail to reach their expectations. Why does this seem to be the case with so many who embark on the couponing adventure?
4:00 PM Aug 15, 2015
In the August 13 edition there was a discussion on carrying handguns at the County Fair. The county officials quoted seemed to be opposed to the idea even while admitting that it is state law.
3:00 PM Aug 15, 2015
“We are raising today’s children in sterile, risk-averse and highly structured environments. In so doing, we are failing to cultivate artists, pioneers and entrepreneurs, and instead cultivating a generation of children who can follow the rules in organized sports games, sit for hours in front of screens and mark bubbles on standardized tests.” — Darell Hammond
7:00 PM Aug 14, 2015
It seems that today “Judge not lest you be judged” (Matthew 7:1) has become a more popular verse than John 3:16. People especially quote “judge not” when it comes to sexual lifestyles. The logic is that it’s my right to do what I want with my body as long as I don’t hurt anyone, and you have no right to judge me for it.
7:00 PM Aug 14, 2015
Many Christians, including myself, believe we are near the end times and the return of Jesus Christ. Christians may hold differences of opinions on the sequence of events of the end times, but nearly all believe we are rapidly approaching the day of Christ’s return.
2:00 PM Aug 14, 2015
See who got a thumbs-up or a thumbs-down this week.
8:00 PM Aug 13, 2015
James B. (Jim) Hawkins is a general practice and public interest law attorney based in Gallatin. This column represents legal information, and is not intended to take the place of legal advice. All cases are different and need individual attention. Consult with a private attorney of your choice to review the facts and law specific to your case. Please call (615) 452-9200 to suggest future column topics.
7:00 PM Aug 13, 2015
Dave Ramsey is America’s trusted voice on money and business. He has authored five New York Times best-selling books. The Dave Ramsey Show is heard by more than 8.5 million listeners each week on more than 550 radio stations. Dave’s latest project, EveryDollar, provides a free online budget tool. Follow Dave on Twitter at @DaveRamsey and on the web at daveramsey.com.
7:00 PM Aug 12, 2015
Grains, especially whole grains, are an essential part of a healthy diet. All types of grains are good sources of complex carbohydrates and some key vitamins and minerals. Grains are also naturally low in fat and have been linked to a lower risk of heart disease, diabetes, certain cancers and other health problems.
5:00 PM Aug 12, 2015
I have already heard someone say, “it feels like fall is in the air.” Summer gardens are beginning to show signs of decline and their production is now limited. This presents the opportunity for a fall garden.
2:00 PM Aug 12, 2015
There is an impending problem with road funding that’s compounded by the failure of the President and Congress to address the federal funding mechanism. As innovation has driven more fuel efficiency, the dollars collected per mile driven in Tennessee fell while the costs of road construction increased. And, it seems the revenue lines and the expenditure lines are about to cross in the negative.
1:00 PM Aug 12, 2015
It’s so easy to become consumed with all the negative and controversies in the world. I’m not saying the issues aren’t important, but there are a lot of time wasted on meaningless things, in my opinion.