Vinson, McPeak, Alexander elected to DTC board

Staff Reports • Updated Oct 1, 2017 at 7:30 AM

ALEXANDRIA – Jim Vinson, Terry McPeak and Michael Alexander were elected to the DeKalb Telephone Cooperative’s board of directors for the Milton, Norene and Woodbury exchanges, respectively.

Voting concluded and the results of the elections were announced at DTC’s annual meeting Sept. 16. Early voting was Sept. 11-13 at four locations.

Vinson, who ran unopposed in the Milton exchange, received 303 complimentary votes. McPeak, who ran unopposed in the Norene exchange, received 289 complimentary votes.

In the Woodbury exchange, Alexander was elected with 233 votes, defeating incumbent Jean Chumbley Ferrell, who got 179 votes.

Also serving on the DTC board are Bennie Curtis, of Alexandria; Roy N. Pugh, of Auburntown; James H. Dillard Jr., of Gordonsville; Randy Campbell, of Liberty; Ronnie Garrison, of Smithville; Jimmy Oakley, of Temperance Hall; and David Parker, of Woodland.

A total of 418 members cast votes in the DTC election this year. Of those, 235 took advantage of early voting.

Following the annual meeting, the board of directors met to elect officers, which included Pugh as president; Curtis as vice president; McPeak as secretary; and Campbell as treasurer.

DTC is the local telephone company that serves areas in Alexandria, Auburntown, Gordonsville, Liberty, Milton, Norene, Smithville, Temperance Hall, Woodbury and Woodland since 1951. It was created by local citizens to provide basic telephone service to the rural areas at a time when none existed due to the higher costs and lack of profits in servicing rural areas.

DTC has progressed from basic telephone service to advanced communications services, including wireless service, internet access, high-speed data services, special calling features, voicemail, DTC TV and security services.

Recommended for You

    Lebanon Democrat Videos