no avatar

Webster, Perry, Martin named A.F. Bridges Award winners

From staff reports • Updated Nov 1, 2013 at 5:13 PM

Watertown athletic director Gavin Webster, former Mt. Juliet coach Roger Perry and Watertown resident David Martin have been announced as winners of the A.F. Bridges Award by the TSSAA for the 2012-13 school year.

Webster, also the Purple Tiger football coach, is being honored as Athletic Director of the Year. Perry, who coached the Golden Bears until stepping down last summer following bypass surgery, though he remains on staff as the team’s offensive play caller, is the Male Coach of the Year. Martin is the Official of the Year.

All three represent Athletic District 4, as does Principal of the Year Greg Mantooth of Franklin County High School. Mantooth coached Mt. Juliet’s football team in the mid-1990s, winning a region championship in ’95.

The awards [63 in all] will be presented at three regional meetings to be held next week. The Middle Tennessee Meeting will be at 10 a.m. Thursday at Nashville’s Hillwood High School.

“Being recognized for one of these awards as a school or individual should be seen as one of the highest honors in high school athletics in our state,” TSSAA executive director Bernard Childress said in a statement. “Those who receive the awards truly reflect what high school athletics should be about, and that’s good sportsmanship and good citizenship.”

Nominations were made by a citizenship/sportsmanship committee in each athletic district. Final selections were made by a state committee.

Recommended for You

    Lebanon Democrat Videos