Thursday, September 09, 2021
  • 0

I was returning from East Tennessee a while back by way of Interstate 40.

Thursday, September 02, 2021
  • 0

The late columnist, writer, humorist and avowed southerner Lewis Grizzard once said, “The nearest thing to heaven is a home-grown tomato.”

Thursday, August 26, 2021
  • 0

In the early days, it was referred to as that electronic box that sat in the corner of the living room.

Thursday, August 19, 2021
  • 0

In a couple of weeks, my wife, Kathy, and I are going to visit one of my favorite Southern cities ... Savannah, Georgia. We will be celebrating her birthday and our 42nd wedding anniversary.

Thursday, August 12, 2021
  • 0

It seems it was not so long ago when every family farm had a milk cow. That was certainly the case before store-bought milk came along.

Thursday, August 05, 2021
  • 0

In last week’s column, I wrote of my love for mules, my acquaintance with the Reese Brothers (world-famous mule traders) of Grand Canyon Mule Rides, and how I introduced two of our granddaughters to mule riding.

Thursday, July 29, 2021
  • 0

It seems that I have always been fascinated with mules. My fascination goes all the way back to my boyhood days and Brim Hollow.

Thursday, July 22, 2021
  • 0

Not too long ago, I read an interesting book entitled, “The Noticer.”

Thursday, July 15, 2021
Thursday, July 08, 2021
  • 0

Recently, I was going through some old tools, which belonged to my maternal grandfather, W. H. Brim.

Thursday, June 24, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021
  • 0

In days gone by, it was about this time of year when my father would return from a close inspection of his tobacco crop and announce at the dinner or supper table, “Boys, we got bud worms. We got to get after ‘em first thing in the morning.”

Thursday, June 10, 2021
Thursday, June 03, 2021
Thursday, May 27, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
  • 0

I was visiting with a friend the other day. He is a gifted and sophisticated professional.

Thursday, May 06, 2021
Thursday, April 29, 2021
  • 0

I have a flower bed of peonies at my house. You might say these peonies are a special variety. They have been passed down from one generation to the next. Most were nurtured and cared for by my wife, Kathy’s, maternal grandmother, Gladys Keene Bratton.

Thursday, April 22, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021
  • 0

I suppose if there is any season most conducive to one’s getting back into the groove, spring would be it.

Thursday, April 08, 2021
  • 0

I grew up alongside a farm pond. I mean that literally and figuratively. The pond was situated two stones throws from our front yard, and it came into being and lived out a life cycle while I was a growing boy.

Thursday, April 01, 2021
  • 0

I’m sure some of my readers can remember when an Easter egg was a simple piece of candy that bordered on inedible.

Wednesday, March 24, 2021
  • 0

Long gone are the days when you could walk into a general store, open the top on the drink box and recognize each brand of soft drink by the its bottle cap.