Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee announced the addition of Sen. Ferrell Haile and State Rep. Patsy Hazlewood to the Financial Stimulus Accountability Group (FSAG).

The bipartisan group will continue its work to support Tennessee’s economy and ensure proper fiscal management of federal relief funds, meeting publicly and reporting regularly to bring transparency to the process.

“As Tennessee’s strong economic recovery continues, we must ensure federal dollars coming to our state are used wisely and effectively,” said Lee. “I thank Sen. Haile, Rep. Hazlewood and all members of this group for their valuable input as we steward these resources and serve Tennesseans.”

There are 11 members of the group.

“I appreciate the opportunity to serve on this panel, which is charged with ensuring this money is used properly to best benefit our citizens,” said Haile. “We have a huge responsibility to see that these funds are managed in the most effective manner, and Gov. Lee is taking every step possible to ensure the most efficient use. I look forward to working with him and the other members of the group to make good decisions about how these funds are spent.”

Hazelwood added, “One of the biggest challenges facing our state currently is using federal stimulus dollars in a fiscally-responsible manner to ensure all Tennesseans’ benefit. I appreciate Gov. Lee appointing me to Financial Stimulus Accountability Group, and together, our work will make sure we can continue to effectively address the immediate and emerging needs of our state.”

Since its founding in April 2020, the FSAG has overseen nearly 90% of all federal dollars distributed to Tennessee through the Coronavirus Relief Fund, authorized in the CARES Act. In 2020, the group proactively invested these dollars into the state’s unemployment trust fund, which successfully protected jobs and prevented tax hikes.

The FSAG also supported the allocation of more than $300 million in grants to small businesses across Tennessee.

The FSAG is currently preparing for implementation of the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Fund, an additional tranche of relief authorized by Congress in March.

Members of the FSAG include: Lee, Haile, Hazelwood, Lieutenant Governor Randy McNally, House Speaker Cameron Sexton, Sen. Bo Watson, Sen. Raumesh Akbari, Rep. Pat Marsh, Rep. Harold Love, Jr., Comptroller of the Treasury Jason Mumpower and Finance and Administration Commissioner Butch Eley.

— Submitted

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.