PHS Football players honored at banquet


Leader photo/CURTIS MARLIN

The Portland football team held its annual banquet Sunday at the school. Winners, pictured from left to right, include (front row): Emmanuel Johnson-(Offensive Back of the Year, ESPN Play of the Year Award), Tyler Neal-(Lanny Vanatta Scout Team Player Award, Scholar-Athlete Award), Ryan Smith-(Specialty Player of the Year), Jackson Webb-(Receiver of the Year), Austin Hardy-(Receiver of the Year); (middle row) Lonnie White-(Mike Hodges defensive Lineman of the Year), Ryan Brewster-(Linebacker of the Year, Defensive Most Valuable Player, Most Tackles and Mr. Hustle), Michael Hussey-(Portland Leader Player of the Year, Offensive Most Valuable Player, Team MVP, Panther Award, Coach Edgar Johnson Dedication, Attitude and Leadership Award and the Glenn Glover Scholarship Award), Dalton Smallwood-(J.D.& J.L. Patton Offensive Lineman Award, HOG of the Year, Big Hit Award); (back row): Bryson Dowlen-(Secondary Player of the Year), Logan Jernigan-(Donnie Brewster Most Improved Award).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.